Monthly Archives: April 2019

Durham Tech Phi Beta Lambda recognized at state conference

(L to R) Chris McDuff, Kim Green, Chuck Lucas, Joseph Blanchet, Michele Parrish, Dr. LaTonya Steele

The Durham Tech Chapter of Phi Beta Lambda (PBL) attended the NC PBL State Leadership Conference April 4-6 in Charlotte where they participated in workshops and networked with other members and professionals.

Congratulations to the following students that won awards during the awards ceremony:

1st Place
Cyber Security: Kim Green
Network Design: Kim Green
Networking Concepts: Joseph Blanchet

2nd Place
Network Design: Joseph Blanchet, Chuck Lucas
Computer Concepts: Christopher McDuff

5th Place
Computer Concepts: Chuck Lucas

Who’s Who in NCPBL
Kim Green and Chuck Lucas

Career and Membership Achievement Program (CMAP)
Director: Joseph Blanchet
Director, Executive and President levels: Chuck Lucas
Executive and President levels: Kim Green
* Only 3 NCPBL members obtained President level *

Leadership Development Award
(for attendance at 4 workshops)
Joseph Blanchet and Kim Green

Chapter Awards and Recognition
* 2019 Gold Seal Chapter (1 of 5 in the state)
* 2018-19 NCPBL Professional Division-Foundation (PF-F) Chapter of the Year
* The Legacy Leadership Award for being an outstanding chapter (1 of 10 in state)
* Recognition for being a Gold Star Chapter
* Recognition for contributions to the NC PBL Professional Division-Foundation General Fund (in honor of Charlene West) and the Scholarship Fund (in honor of Ms. Jean Buckley on her retirement as FBLA-PBL, INC, President and CEO).
* Recognition for Membership Achievement for the NCPBL PD-F Chapter Affiliation
* Recognition for Membership Achievement (increased membership)

1st Place
Largest Percentage Increase in Membership for Central Region

2nd Place
Local Chapter Annual Business Report
Largest Increase in Membership for Central Region
Largest PD-F Membership Chapter Affiliation for Central Region

3rd Place
Largest Chapter Affiliation NC PBL Professional Division-Foundation

5th Place
Largest Increase in Chapter Membership
Largest Percentage Increase in Chapter Membership

Other Recognition
*  Michele Parrish was recognized for 15 years of service as an advisor.
*  Michele Parrish and Dr. LaTonya Steele served on the State Awards Program committee.
* As part of receiving the Who’s Who award, Kim Green and Chuck Lucas spoke about the person who they admired the most at the Friday night session.  
* Gilbert Umberger was nominated by Durham Tech PBL and received the 2019 PD-F Distinguished Service Award.
* Mr. David Bishop was the recipient of the NCPBL Business Person of the Year Award.  He is the owner of Stitch Doctor Embroidery in Durham, NC and was nominated by Durham Tech PBL for the support he has provided.

All four students will be representing Durham Tech PBL and NC PBL at the FBLA-PBL National Leadership Conference (NLC) in San Antonio in June. Members will be fundraising for the trip. NLC. Upcoming fundraisers include Durham Bulls ticket vouchers, City BBQ and California Pizza Kitchen. Additionally, students will be participating in the Triangle March of Dimes walk in late April. 

Gilbert Umberger and Dan Hazlett (NC-PBL State Advisor)

Durham Tech police officer earns certificate from NC Department of Justice

Durham Tech Police Chief Dawn Tevepaugh (left) and Sgt. Jamaal Walker (right)

Sgt. Jamaal Walker, shift supervisor of Durham Tech Police and Public Safety, was awarded the Intermediate Law Enforcement Certificate from the North Carolina Department of Justice last month.

The Law Enforcement Officers’ Professional Certificate Program was established in order to recognize the level of competence of law enforcement officers serving governmental agencies within the State, to foster interest in college education and professional law enforcement training programs, and to attract highly qualified people into a law enforcement career.

Congratulations Sgt. Walker!

Durham Tech student honored at national conference

Irina Conc, a current student at Durham Tech, was honored as a 2019 Coca-Cola New Century Transfer Pathways Scholar at the American Association of Community College’s Conference in Orlando, Florida on April 15. She is pictured with Dr. Lynn Tincher-Ladner, President and CEO of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society.

L to R: Dr. Lynn Tincher-Ladner and Irina Conc

Let’s celebrate April anniversaries and birthdays!

April Anniversaries (Years)

Melissa Mitchell (27); Megan Nicholson (24); Harry Bulbrook (22); Judy Roberts (14); Mary Moore (14); Richard Lawrence (11); Andrea Thomas (9); Judy Graham (9); Glen Fisher (7); Teresa Holder (7); David Wright (3); Keitcha Royal (3); Pamela Rich (3); Paula Reif (3); Veronica Lee (2); Jean Brown (1); Virgil Malone (1)

April Birthdays (Day)

Patrick Morris (1); Christine Gunnigle (2); James Luxton (2); Vernon Bridges (2); Donna Matheson (2); Belinda Robertson (4); Elecia Brown (4); Liza Nordstrom (6); Shannon Hahn (9); Tracy Bennett (9); Mauricio Garcia-Vargas(10); Jemma Superville (11); Amy Kern (11); Cortissia Johnson (12); Abigail McAlister(13); Akin Akinli (13); Bill Ingram (13); Blake Williams (13); Olga Hogrefe (16); Dorothy Holman (19); Synthia Cooper (20); Terra Pegram Bikah (23); Paula Reif (23); Patricia Graham (24); John Mathewson (24); Jill Roofner (24); David Long (25); April Beyah-Joseph (26); Harry Bulbrook (26); Kim Chandler (26); Ben Lock(27); Pamela Rich (28); Victoria Deaton (28); Rachel Lithman (29)