Phi Theta Kappa induction ceremony


Congratulations to the 48 newest members of Phi Theta Kappa, who were inducted at a ceremony on September 29:
Rabia Abbasi, John Ager, Abdiel Avila, Loida Avila, Tirsa Avilia, Mohammad Badsha, Susannah Bell, Louisa Boswell, Matthew Brown, Latimah Bustillo, Gabriel Casalett, Kayla Clark, Daniel Dod, Mark Eyster, Jonathan Farber, Leslie Gillispie, Oscar Henriquez, Alain Ishimwe, Kristina James, Ahmed Kafi, Patricia Karrigan, Candace Lackey, Blake Lewis, Nathan Maltba, Winniehope Mamboleo, Megan Mayers, Tiffany McKnight, Nicole Nealon, Callistus Ndemo, Nathan Penny, Junaid Qureshi, Dorothy Ramsey, Ann Roy, Steven Rutkowski, Anwar Seid, Tierney Shipley, Babiker Suliman, Nicole Tatum, Abigail Tepper, Charles Tisdial, Renee Trogdon, Shayna Tulanian, Donna Vinzant, Casey Van Alstyne, Khin Wai, Gabrielle Whitten, Catherine Wiley, and Robert Young

Since 1929, the American Association of Community Colleges has recognized Phi Theta Kappa as the official honor society of two-year colleges. It is the largest honor society in American higher education, with more than 2 million members and 1,200 chapters located worldwide. Durham Tech’s chapter was chartered in 2011 and is one of 84 chapters in the two-state Carolinas region.